New Mexico Gun Laws are based on the Article II, Section 6 of the State of New Mexico’s Constitution that reads, “No law shall abridge the right of the citizen to keep and bear arms for security and defense, for lawful hunting and recreational use and for other lawful purposes, but nothing herein shall be held to permit the carrying of concealed weapons. No municipality or county shall regulate, in any way, an incident of the right to keep and bear arms.”
In general, New Mexico Gun Laws do not require a permit to purchase, registration of guns and licensing of firearm owners. However, a permit to carry is required for people possessing handguns in public areas not prohibited by federal and state laws.
Validity of Permits Issued Under New Mexico Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions
Permits provided under New Mexico Gun Laws are valid in the following states:
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
On the other hand, Mexico Gun Laws only recognize permits from states that are “at least as stingent or substancially similar” to New Mexico. Thus, the state only honors permits issued from the following:
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- West Virginia
Key Provisions of Mexico Gun Laws
Here are the key requirements and restrictions provided by Mexico Gun Laws in addition to the ones mentioned above:
1. A person under 19 is prohibited from possessing or transporting a handgun. He can only do so if he is within the real property owned or under the control of his parent, legal guardian and grandparent. It should be added that he has to be within the supervision of the mentioned persons. Likewise, he is also permitted if he is attending a hunter or handgun safety course, participating in an organized event recognized by the state involving guns, or engaging in lawful hunting or trapping.
2. A concealed handgun permit to carry is not required if the possessor is within a real property owned by him, or where he is a tenant, lessee or licensee. It is not required as well if the person carrying it is doing so for the purpose of lawful protection of his or another’s property, transporting it in private vehicle, or when he is a peace officer discharging his duties.
3. A person is not allowed to carry more than one concealed handgun at a time. He is also prohibited from carrying a gun with a caliber more or less than what is indicated in his license.
4. A change in the permanent address of a concealed carry permit holder should be reported to the NM Department of Public Safety within 30 days.
5. Should a concealed carry permit holder lose or cause major damage to his license, he should inform the department within 10 days.
6. Carrying a firearm (even with a permit) in a private establishment where a conspicuous sign barring guns is present, courthouse or school is prohibited. A person verbally prohibited by the owner of a private property to carry a gun is included in the restriction too. Exempted from this rule are persons allowed by the owner of the private establishment to carry guns, individuals participating in lawful and organized events involving guns within the premises, or people allowed by law to carry guns.
7. A concealed carry permit is not valid in tribal lands, unless allowed by its governing body.
8. The possession of a machine gun will only be allowed if it is duly registered and its possession is in compliance with federal laws.
9. Discharging a firearm within 150 yards of an inhabited dwelling place or building without the approval of its owner or lessee is illegal.
Concealed Handgun License Requirements
A Concealed Handgun License will only be given by the NM Department of Public Safety to applicants who meet the following conditions:
1. A United States citizen and resident of New Mexico or a member of the US Armed Forces who is permanently detailed in the state. The dependent of the US Armed Forces member is also qualified to apply.
2. Should be at least 21 years old.
3. Does not possess the disqualifying factors brought about by conviction of a felony, conviction of an offense related to violence, addiction to intoxicating or controlled substance, or mental incompetence.
4. Must be able to successfully complete the handgun safety course required by New Mexico Gun Laws and must have an understanding of the Concealed Handgun Carry Act.
5. Not prohibited by federal or other state laws from possessing or buying a gun.
6. Does not possess a court ruling that bars him from possessing or buying a gun.
7. Must be able to complete all the forms, provide the documentary requirements and fees required by the issuing authority.
8. Must pass the national criminal background check.
New Mexico Gun Laws prohibit the political subdivisions of the state from passing ordinances that regulate, in any way, the right of its residents to keep and bear arms.