Blog

Utah Gun Laws

utah gun laws

Utah Gun Laws are based on the Article 1, Section 6 of the State of Utah’s Constitution which reads, “The individual right of the people to keep and bear arms for security and defense of self, family, others, property, or the State as well as for other lawful purposes shall not be infringed; but nothing herein shall prevent the legislature from defining the lawful use of arms.”

In general, Utah Gun Laws do not require permit to purchase, registration and licensing of firearm owners. The State, however, requires a permit to carry from a person carrying a concealed weapon in places outside his residence, own business establishment or real properties.

Validity of Permits Issued Under Utah Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

These states recognize permits issued under Utah Gun Laws:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Delaware
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Idaho
  10. Indiana
  11. Iowa
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana
  15. Michigan
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. New Hampshire
  22. North Carolina
  23. North Dakota
  24. Ohio
  25. Oklahoma
  26. Pennsylvania
  27. South Dakota
  28. Tennessee
  29. Texas
  30. Vermont
  31. Virginia
  32. Washington
  33. West Virginia
  34. Wisconsin
  35. Wyoming

On the other hand, permits issued from the following states are recognized by Utah Gun Laws:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Indiana
  14. Iowa
  15. Kansas
  16. Kentucky
  17. Louisiana
  18. Maine
  19. Maryland
  20. Massachusetts
  21. Michigan
  22. Minnesota
  23. Mississippi
  24. Missouri
  25. Montana
  26. Nebraska
  27. Nevada
  28. New Hampshire
  29. New Jersey
  30. New Mexico
  31. New York
  32. North Carolina
  33. North Dakota
  34. Ohio
  35. Oklahoma
  36. Oregon
  37. Pennsylvania
  38. Rhode Island
  39. South Carolina
  40. South Dakota
  41. Tennessee
  42. Texas
  43. Virginia
  44. Washington
  45. West Virginia
  46. Wisconsin
  47. Wyoming

Key Provisions of Utah Gun Laws

Here are the main requirements and restrictions provided by Utah Gun Laws:

1. A person buying a firearm must present a valid concealed firearm permit. In the absence of such, he must undergo and pass the criminal history background check conducted by the Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI).

2. A person who is under 18 years of age is not allowed to possess a firearm without the permission or supervision of his parent or legal guardian. However, the minor is exempted from this rule if he is attending any State-recognized firearm safety course, recreational facility that uses firearms and other areas allowed by federal and Utah Gun Laws.

3. The following conditions shall disqualify a person from possessing, owning or controlling a firearm:

  • Being an illegal alien in the US
  • Having renounced his US citizenship
  • Has a felony conviction
  • Adjudicated delinquent for the last seven years of an offense that would constitute a felony when committed by an adult or 10 years for a violent felony.
  • Found to be illegally using or possessing controlled substance
  • Suffering from mental incompetence or confined to a psychological treatment facility
  • Being on parole or probation for any felony or on parole from a secure facility
  • Has a status of dishonorable dismissal from the armed forces
  • Under a court order that bars him from possessing a firearm

4. A person who is under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance is not permitted to possess or use a firearm.

5. The law allows the possession of a loaded firearm in one’s residence or camp.

6. A person is not allowed to possess a firearm in another’s private property or on school premises. This exempts permit holders and individuals authorized by law to carry firearms in their line of duty.

7. When travelling with a firearm, it must be unloaded and securely stored in an encasing.

8. Possessing a firearm with unrecognizable, altered or destroyed identification marks is prohibited unless the firearm is classified as antique.

9. An antique firearm is treated as an ordinary firearm when being carried.

10. Discharging a firearm in public places or within a private property where there is no express permission from the owner is prohibited except in self defense.

Permit to Carry Requirements

Here are the requirements that a permit to carry applicant must fulfill:

1. The applicant must be at least 21 years old.

2. He must be of good character.

3. The person must not have any of the disqualifying factors related to the possession of firearms which were stated in the previous section.

4. He must be able to complete the forms required, submit all the supporting documents and pay all the needed fees.

Preemption

Under Utah Gun Laws, the power to regulate firearms is reserved to the State Legistature unless it delegates some of this power to its political subdivision.